What are the Major League Baseball teams in California?

There are a total of five MLB professional teams in California. In southern California, there are 3: LA Dodgers (Los Angeles), LA Angels (Anaheim), SD Padres (San Diego), and 2 in North California: SF Giants (San Francisco) and Oakland Athletics (Oakland). 

The Giants and the Dodgers moved from New York, NY (Manhattan & Brooklyn respectively) after the 1957 season; the A’s moved after the 1960 season from Kansas City. The Angels and Padres were expansion teams in 1960. The Angels changed their name / brand identity from the “California Angels”to the “Anaheim Angels”, to the “Los Angeles Angels”

The A’s and the Angels are American League teams; the Padres, Dodgers & Giants are all National League teams. 



You might also like...