Ole Miss Crowned College World Series Champs

Ole Miss Rebels Top of the World 2022 NCAA Men's Baseball College World Series Champions Locker Room Crew Adjustable HatDisplay slide 1 of 3Selected slide 2 of 3Display slide 3 of 3 Ole Miss Rebels Champion 2022 NCAA Men's Baseball College World Series Champions Locker Room T-Shirt

Ole Miss Rebels, making their 6th CWS appearance and first in 8 years, swept the Oklahoma Sooners en route to winning their first-ever College World Series Title. Then, in a dramatic final game, the Rebels came back to beat the Sooners 4-2 on Sunday afternoon. Down 2-1 going into the 8th inning, Ole Miss scored 3 runs, took advantage of two critical Sooner mistakes, and then shut the door in the ninth inning that set off a massive celebration as the Rebels became the 8th national champion in the last 13 years from the SEC.

Ole Miss was not one of the favorites coming into the 64-team field. They were 7-14 at one point earlier in the year and were on the bubble to even make the CWS. However, once they got in, they caught fire and posted a 10-1 postseason record outscoring their opponents 68-19 during their magical run.

Celebrate the Ole Miss win by shopping our vast assortment of almost 50 CWS items. Find a great selection of hats, tees, collectibles, and more at fanatics.com.

Here is some more info on the history and some key facts about the Men’s College World Series

The College World Series has been around since 1947. Officially known as the NCAA Men’s College World Series, the MCWS is a double-elimination bracket-style tournament. The tournament is held in June each year at the Charles Schwab Field in Omaha. Nebraska has been the host of the College World Series since 1950. The College World Series brought in over 17,000 fans in its first year in Omaha.

There are many ways to rank the best NCAA teams in the College World Series. Some rank them based on appearances, with teams like LSU and Texas frequently appearing. Florida State and Arizona are also at the top of this list. Others rank it based on who has become the college baseball national champions most often. This title belongs to USC with 12 titles. However, it has been 15 years since their last title in 1998. The No. 2 spot for most wins is tied between Texas and LSU, each with six titles. Arizona State has a total of five wins.



You might also like...