2022 NHL Playoffs in full-swing, learn more about the teams

When the National Hockey League began back in 1917, it only had six teams. Known as the Original Six, these teams included the Boston Bruins, Chicago Blackhawks, Detroit Red Wings, Montreal Canadiens, New York Rangers, and Toronto Maple Leafs. As of the 2021-22 season, the NHL has 32 teams, so take some time to learn about teams remaining in the playoffs.

Boston Bruins

The Bruins belong to the Atlantic Division and use TD Garden for home games. The team has been in existence since 1924, making it the league’s third-oldest team and the oldest one based in the United States.

Calgary Flames

As part of the Pacific Division with other West Coast NHL teams, the Flames call the Scotiabank Saddledome home. The Flames, along with the Edmonton Oilers, are two the teams in Alberta, and the two cities’ proximity has led to a rivalry known as the “Battle of Alberta.”

Carolina Hurricanes

The Hurricanes are members of the Metropolitan Division and play home games at PNC Arena in Raleigh, North Carolina. When the team won the Stanley Cup in 2006, it gave the state of North Carolina its first major professional sports championship.

Colorado Avalanche

Another member of the Central Division, the Avalanche play their games at the Pepsi Center. The team was known as the Quebec Nordiques and relocated to Denver in 1995. It became the first NHL team to win the Stanley Cup in the season after moving.

Dallas Stars

As part of the Central Division and one of the NHL teams that start with “D,” the Stars play their home games at the American Airlines Center. Previously known as the Minnesota North Stars, the team relocated to Dallas in 1993 and won the Stanley Cup during the 1998-99 season.

Edmonton Oilers

The Oilers belong in the Pacific and play at Rogers Arena. In 1972, the team was one of a dozen that formed the World Hockey Association. The Oilers were one of four teams absorbed into the NHL in 1979 when the leagues merged and won five Stanley Cups in the 1980s. As a result, the Oilers team earned dynasty status in the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Florida Panthers

A member of the Atlantic Division, the Panthers play games at BB&T Arena in Sunrise, which makes them the southernmost team in the NHL. The team joined the league during the 1993-94 season along with the Anaheim Ducks.

Los Angeles Kings

The Kings are a part of the Pacific Division and use the Staples Center for games. The Kings won the Stanley Cup during the 2011-12 and 2013-14 seasons.

Minnesota Wild

As part of the Central Division, the Wild play their games at Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul. The Wild began to play in the state during the 2000-01 season and were the first professional hockey team in Minnesota since the North Stars left for Dallas in 1993.

Nashville Predators

The Predators are part of the Central Division and play at Bridgestone Arena. Much like the Red Wings, the Predators have a tradition of throwing catfish on the ice. This tradition dates back to 2003.

New York Rangers

Yet another member of the Metropolitan Division and the second of NHL New York teams, the Rangers play their home games at Madison Square Garden. Its stadium is the oldest in the league, having opened its doors in 1968.

Pittsburgh Penguins

Also part of the Metropolitan Division, the Penguins host games at PPG Paints Arena. Also formed in the 1967 expansion, the Penguins have won the Stanley Cup five times and are tied with the Oilers for most Cups among non-Original Six teams.

St. Louis Blues

The Blues are a part of the Central Division and host games at the Enterprise Center. Its name comes from the W.C. Handy song called “Saint Louis Blues.”

Tampa Bay Lightning

As part of the Atlantic Division, the Lightning use Amalie Arena for games. The team was the youngest franchise to win back-to-back Stanley Cups, which it did during the 2019-20 and 2020-21 seasons.

Toronto Maple Leafs

Also in the Atlantic, the Maple Leafs play at Scotiabank Arena. Founded in 1913, the club has won 13 Stanley Cups and has two recognized dynasties: 1947-51 and 1962-67.

Washington Capitals

As part of the Metropolitan Division, the Capitals play at Capital One Arena. When the team won the Stanley Cup in 2018, it marked Washington’s first professional sports championship since 1992, when the Washington Redskins won the Super Bowl.

The Stanley Cup Playoffs start with 16 teams scattered throughout the U.S. and Canada,  show off your love for your favorite pro hockey team and check out Fanatics today. You’ll find thousands of officially licensed sports apparel, sports collectibles, and other memorabilia for every team.



You might also like...